Writing for God, Fighting Human Trafficking

Linda Rodante

Christianity’s New “Feel-Good” Doctrines

I’ve seen and heard and felt the pressure to skim over the hard, non-politically correct or non-culturally accepted parts of the Bible, so I understand why Thomas Jefferson (the principal author of the Declaration of Independence and the third President of the United States from 1801 to 1809) began clipping things out of his Bible to create his own.

Today, many Christians are doing the same thing. The problem is God’s Word is not up to a pick-and-choose mentality or “whatever feels good do it” religion. He is God Almighty, not Santa Claus. The Word and His commandments are just that–His Word and His Commandments.

We think we can do what we want and still be accepted–and God’s grace is so great and encompassing, I understand that type of thinking. Don’t I also choose the things I believe are more important and those that I think aren’t? But when we come to God, we need to understand all his attributes–His awesomeness, His holiness, His mercy and His judgement. I struggle daily to walk as He wants me to–to love others, to be patient and kind, to turn from temptation, etc, and yet not compromise my Christianity. It’s hard. Anyone with me on that?

But to deny what God says is right is to deny Him entirely–because He either is or isn’t God. He is either Truth and righteousness or not. The article below has brought all this back to me one more time, and opened up some new insights. I hope you’ll take time to read it. And I’d love to hear from you after you’ve read it.

http://www.charismamag.com/life/culture/22494-how-the-new-christian-left-is-twisting-the-gospel

(Linda is the author of The Dangerous Series, Christian romantic, mystery and suspense fiction that bring out some of the hard issues facing Christian’s today, along with God’s goodness and grace. You can find them on Amazon  https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Linda+k+Rodante

Leave a Reply

