Writing for God, Fighting Human Trafficking

Linda Rodante

Who Am I?

Some years ago, a discussion took place among a few students at Yale University. Various topics were discussed that may have included the questions: Where did I come from? Why am I here? Where am I going? What is the reason for my existence? At any rate, one of the students suddenly asked: Who am I?

This is a very probing question. Remember that Socrates said: “Know thyself.” There are certain things about ourselves that we know and understand. I believe that there are things we do not know about ourselves that we should know… The following statement caught my attention:

“There was a time when you were disturbed and conscience smitten about a certain sin. It may have been immorality. It may have been a lie. It may have been the first time you cheated in school. But now your conscience bothers you hardly at all. Your heart has become hardened. You no longer have sensitivity to things you know to be wrong.”  Billy Graham

Who am I? What a question to ask yourself! It pulsates with deep interest, questions, observations, performance issues, and reputation….

To know “who I am” is to know “who God is,” what he is like, what his values are, what his purposes are, and much more. In order for this to be accomplished, I must spend time with him… quality time!

My concern today is that many Christians have other “gods” — the god of money, pleasure, position, things… These capture the time, attention, passion, and activities of those who say “they love the Lord.”

“Be still and know that I am God.” (Psalms 46:10 NKJV). This will lead us to the answer of Who am I?

Nietzsche has said, “If a man has a why for his life he can bear almost any how.” Pascal sums it up by saying: “Apart from Jesus Christ we know not what our life is, nor our death, nor God, nor ourselves. With Jesus Christ, we can know.”

Trinity College of FloridaThis blog was taken from The Inside Scoop by Mark O’Farrell, President of Trinity College of Florida.  Trinity College of Florida is a private, interdenominational Bible college (established 1932) located in New Port Richey,  Florida. The College’s most famous alumnus is Billy Graham, who graduated in 1940.

One comment on “Who Am I?

  1. tyeagerwrites
    July 21, 2015

    Love the Nietzsche quote!

Leave a Reply

